Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

10:33 a.m. - 2002-12-10
Robin Hood 2K3
Back at work. Now that I'm almost done with work - I kinda liked it. Made me feel like Robin Hood. Let me 'splain.

I work in the Financial Aid office on campus. It's mundane cubical work. I audit people's taxes and recalculate their aid accordingly. Secretly though *looks left then right. Peers over top of cube discreetly* (Leaning in - holding hand twixt mouth and screen) I take certain liberties to give noticeably needy people more money. I love it. You see, most financial aid applicants are rich liars, and when my job is done, I'm taking AWAY some aid. But once in awhile, I get the satisfaction of recalculating so that a needy family gets MORE! Yeah! I love that part.

Lordy if you could read some of these applications. Students with one parent unemployed, one in jail. A child. Ten siblings. No job. ....it's pretty common here in ol South Cakalaky. I like helping out where I can. It's nominal and marginal at best...but I help. Hey, I'm the amish Robin Hood! Justice shall be my quiver, and truth will be my sword! Actually, it's a calculator and a number of Federal software programs...but still!

***

The new year is quickly approaching. I had this plan, at the turn of the millenium, that I was going to start a new "catch-phrase". For those of us that graduated or spoke about life pre-21st century, you simply refered to the year as the final two digits ('97, '98, '99, right?) and then the impending new century seemed like a mouthful! EVERYtime, 2002. 2006. 2009. Where was the shortcut?

So, I was gonna take my que from the LAST turn of the century, and bring back the word "aught". Like - '01 and '02 would be pronouced "aught one" and "aught two".

Seemed dated...but knowing how much I would use it, my mouth needed a break from saying that long train-wreck of a year. So I tried on the aught thing and wore it for awhile. .... and it just didn't fit.

But much to my surprise - the kids went and made one up on their own! 2K. And you say it "TwoKay." So if I were graduating HS this year, I would be the class of 2K3. (Well, I'm finishing my masters, so I guess I am the class of 2K2). I didn't know this phenom had taken root. Damn you TV, not having you has hurt my hip urban-edge once more! Thank-god I caught another few minutes of the WB while standing in line yesterday!

next