Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

6:52 p.m. - 12.14.2002
Isabell
Today I took Isabell to the airport.

Who's Isabell?

...Pull up a chair.

When I was studying in Belgium, I was in the french half, Walloon or Walloonia. I studied at a school called Leuven-le-Neuve in the town of the same name. It means New Leuven. The school is the red-headed stepchild of Leuven University in the Dutch half of Belgium, Flanders. Needless to say, the Dutch half and the French half hate each other, and as recent as 1970, the Dutch kicked all the French out of Leuven U, and they were forced to start their own school a few miles south.

So, while studying in LLN, a school rep approached me. A LLN student was soon transferring to Clemson, and wanted to meet me to ask me questions about Clemson. Enter: Isabell.

Isabell and I met for drinks on my last day in Belgium.

We chatted it up and I knew right away we would be friends when we both got back to Clemson.

So, the new school year came, and Isabell and I found ourselves meeting again on US soil. I helped orient her to the area and after that we hung-out pretty non-stop. We hung out a LOT.

So much to the tune that we were getting a bit too chummy for me. She was staying at my place quite regular, and I could see the direction things were heading. Just a few months prior a fine woman had relieved herself of my services, so I was not ready or wanting to jump back into the relationship arena.

So I started to back off a bit. Luckily, everything remainded cool, and we continued to hang out as friends for the rest of the semester.

Now I am graduating and moving on, and she has gone home for the holidays. She'll return for school, and I'll return for my communtiy service. So, we'll be in touch, but I just wanted to write and say that I enjoyed the day and was glad I could take her to the airport.

***

I returned from the airport and decided to have a chef nite for myself. I bought a bottle of vino and made some pasta in a creamy pesto sauce. I'm eating it as I type this. Yum-ster-roons! A romantic evening for one. Maybe when I retire for the night I'll get lucky....but I doubt it. I've been sick all day, so I repulse myself.

next