Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

10:07 a.m. - 12.18.2002
Depeche Mode, Nipples, and a rock-star swagger
Well the responses are in from my questions yesterday, and the results are overwhelming! - nobody knows what the hell I'm talking about. Amishboy is doomed to live in his own world. I assumed these things were universal. Next you're going to tell me that I'm the only one that, when depressed, likes to curl up naked and fetal in the corner of a dark room while listening to Depeche Mode and pinching my nipples. Universals people.....right? *sound of crickets echoes like a jackhammer*

***

'Tis the party season at work. Yesterday was la grande Christmas fete where everyone brings in a delicious dish of their own creation.

The conference room table was piled high with holiday cheer, festooned with yummy yule morsels. All the Who boys and girls joined in the Who-feast. And I , Amishboy, even carved the Roast Beast. Actually, there was no meat, but I did bring the last can of Who Hash.

I wanted to prepare a vat of my special Kraft Mac n Cheese, but I was out of cauldrons. Instead I put out some tic tacs and a couple 'o' listerine strips. Someone had brought a hot-crock of some wicked mexi-dip that I needed to counteract. On the plus, the crock had a fan-ta-bulos floral pattern on the side that would have made anything brewing on the inside look irresistable.

And today...the party continues. Today's party was in celebration of...Amishboy! It's my last day of work (!) so we had obligatory cake and I was lavished with gift certificates to the bookstore (score!). *sniff* I think it just may be a merry christmas afterall. I'm rushing out after work to spend them. I want Nathaniel Hawthorn's "Blithedale Romance".

***

Mein Vatter ist rolling into town for my graduation a day early so we can go see the Two Towers together. Yes. We're nerds. Stand us together and we look like a before and after picture. Before and after of what though I'm not sure.

We like to go in costume. He's going as Aragorn, as realized by Viggo Mortensen, not the hunky book version, and I'm going as Arwen played by Liv Tyler. (I'm shorter). It should be a magical night to say the least.

(The part about my dad coming into town is true. The rest I leave to your wild imaginations....)

***

I've taken to wearing a winter scarf - and I'm really digging it. I get compliments everywhere I go. It's a gray Italian Merino from Banana Republic (Amishboy is not above name dropping). I'm one of those few straight men blessed with a keen fashion sense that can still pull it off and look like a straight man. It's a gift really.

I think it may be because I'm lanky. Lank is difficult for a man to carry-off. One wears it either gracefully and effeminate, or in a confident rock-star swagger. I'm all swagger. At least (like a lot of things) that's how it happens in my head...

next