Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

1:40 p.m. - 01.01.2003
\"Hey guys - 10!9!8!7!6!5!4!......\"
Me again. New Year's was a hoot. The funniest thing in the world happened. We were at a houseparty for New Year's, and everyone was hanging-out in small cliques throughout this monstrosity of a house. It was more of a maze with occasional bedrooms as you worked up each continous flight of stairs. Anyway, a group of us were hanging - and it was close to go time (12AM) but nobody was minding the time.

Then, sombody ran up to us with a bottle of champagne and was shouting the backward count-off from 10 to signal the New Year. And we all got excited. And counted. But it wasn't 12. Only 11.

What a crazy guy! That has to be one of the more original New Year's jokes I've seen in a long time - the "faux-count-from-ten" prank. And later he tried it again. And it was STILL funny. This guy was in rare form. I think he must have been channeling Buddy Hackett last night. I need to remember that one - cause I'm trying it next year!

"...."

Please. Nobody fell for it. They haven't since I was 7. It WAS refreshing though to see someone dust off a classic and try to keep it fresh for the kids. Too bad there were no kids present.

And that was the highlight of my New Year's! Can you stand it?! Me neither.

***

So, I'm in the city for today and then heading back south tonite. While I'm still here I need to soak up as much as I can before I head back to the pine barrens of Carolina. This afternoon I'm taking in Bowling for Columbine because I wouldn't have the opportunity to see it otherwise. We can chat about the movie later....

***

Oh - I did drop some bones in the city on some tunes. Picked up the new:

- Interpol

- Simian

- Supergrass

Check 'em out at your local independent music peddler.

next