Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

4:08 p.m. - 02.13.2003
Shadowboxing
The best thing I overheard in Seattle was a guy say, "I'm so skinny my nipples touch."

I wanted to laugh so hard that I was afraid to turn around and see how skinny the guy really was.

I'm glad now that I didn't look, because I'd like to keep the visual I have of him being just that skinny.

***

The skinny comment was overheard in the Public Market. It's a famous fresh food market/tourist trap where they throw giant fish at each other across the counter as half spectacle/half laziness.

This market was where I spent most of my alone time. The place is Byzantine. Seattle is an english muffin city - plenty of nooks and crannys.

I love english muffins.

***

While in Seattle I tried to get in touch with my "comfortably alone" self.

You see, I've never spent much time doing things in a party of one, I do so much better in a group setting. I made a conscious effort when I was walking around alone to make it look natural. The problem is, the whole point is that I shouldn't have to make an effort at all!

My problem has been, when I'm alone, people are always asking me if I'm okay. I must walk around with a scowl or some kind of pained grimace on my face. I can't help it - mostly because I'm unaware of it. That's just my face.

I'm such a loser. Now I walk around and have to remind myself to look at people in the eye, and smile, and whatever else comfortable alone people do. I think I may take to skipping instead of walking - so people don't feel the need to rush me to Intensive Care.

Plus, if I lived in Seattle and skipped everywhere I'd blend in just fine - big gay community you know. (I don't want to offend any gays out there by implying that your people skip everywhere, but it is a safe stereotype to say that you are a jollier bunch than most.)

***

You may have read this, but in Seattle itzie and rdg gave me my only souvenir - a handheld boxing amish man toy! Like those boxing nuns. And I love it. On my two hour layover in Dallas, I boxed anything that would come near me.

But with the whole post-9/11 intense security vibe that's going on these days, I spent a good deal of those two hours being grilled in an airport security interrogation room on my feelings of anger and intrinsic need to box a carboard cutout of the great Geroge W Bush.

When their questions were met with more tiny, amish boxing gloves to the face, the interrgation took on a nasty air.

In the end they had nothing on me and I was less than gently deposited at my gate just in time for boarding. I got the last laugh though. As they walked away they were treated to a furious round of shadowboxing to the back of their heads - from a very safe distance. It was all very "I'm squishing your head!" from Kids in the Hall.

So a great big thanks to the Seattle girls for that simple pleasure!

***

Speaking of the Seattle girls, I'm going through withdrawal. (Or is it just withdraw?) Either way, I miss my new heroin-like friends.

***

I want to share something with you. I think these pictures are the best.

next