Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

10:19 a.m. - 04.25.2003
\"Never Can Say Goodbye\" - Jackson 5
Today I begin my long drawn-out "Journey of Goodbye". Or maybe "Trail of Tears" is better, if it isn't taken already.

This is where I travel the southeast in a mad dash to say goodbye to all those that I will miss dearly before I depart for the West.

Tonight I travel to Raleigh to have parting drinks with coldradio.

Sunday, swtapplpie is stopping by my house for a goodbye as she travels home.

Then on wednesday I take this pitiful act on the road, starting in South Carolina. I hit Clemson for a weekend of post-exam/Leaving for Seattle debauchery with the college crew.

Then, in a foggy haze I have to pick myself up and continue on downdowndown to southsouthsouth Georgia to spend some time with my Amishdad, who usually whisks me to Florida seeing as how he lives on the border.

Amishdad just found out two days ago that I was moving to Seattle. Last he had heard I was all but in the car to Charleston (his hometown). In fact, my grandmother in Charleston was already setting aside furniture to give me for my new apartment. C'est la vie!

Why move to a furnished apartment in cheap Charleston when I can haul my ass across counrty to where nothing awaits me - spending all of my money in the process? (It sounds like sarcasm, but it's not. I'm 100% stoked! And yes, I said stoked.)

Unfortunately - I have no time to say goodbye to my Northern friends, but since I haven't seen any of them in years, I think it will be a smoother transition. The only exception being soupergirl, who I am lobbying hardcore to be my cross-country driving buddy over her school break.

Which reminds me: Soupergirl, be my cross-country driving buddy over your school break. You know you can't resist the public plea! It's useless to resist! All eyes are on you!Choose and Submit!! Mwahahaha!! *ahem* (while I have you, I tried calling you, but it seems you lost your cell, again. Buy Sondre Lerche. You'll thank yourself.)

As I gear my loins for a long ride in a lonely saddle, only one thing comes to mind - Ozzy, naturlich. Sure, a little "No More Tears" fits the mood. But this keeps ringing in my head:

Times have changed and times are strange

Here I come , But I ain't the same

Mama, I'm Coming Home

Times gone by seem to be

You could have been a better friend to me

Mama, I'm Coming Home

Took me in and you drove me out

Yeah, you had me hypnotised

Lost and found and turned around

By the fire in your eyes

You made me cry, told me lies

But, I can't stand to say goodbye

Mama, I'm Coming Home

I could be right, I could be wrong

Hurts so bad, it's been so long

Mama, I'm Coming Home

Selfish love yeah we're both alone

The ride before a fall

But I'm gonna take this heart of stone

I just got to have it all

I've seen your face a hundered times

Everyday we've been apart

I don't care about the sunshine, yeah

'Cause Mama...Mama, I'm Coming Home

next