Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

8:18 p.m. - 05.19.2003
A Word About The Word
Where most 18-wheelers have signs on the back reading "wide turns" or "how's my driving" or even "if you can't see my mirrors I can't see you", here in the bible belt they're prone to additional religious graffiti. Apparently, god has a vested interest in the transport industry in the south.

Driving today I saw one truck that read: "Born Once, Die Twice. Born Twice, Die Once." I'm assuming this is a "born again" mantra but I have yet to really sit down and do the math.

Another was more appealing with: "Start the week off right - attend the church of your choice." I enjoyed the freedom of choice offered and not being bullied towards one denomination, which is the norm here.

I saw a bumper sticker on an SUV that read: "God is too big to fit in my religion." .....? Is this pro- or anti- religion? I could make an argument for it going either way.

A final one read: "Jesus. Don't leave earth without him". It's rare to see a bumper sticker just targeting astronauts. I don't thing the rest of us are leaving earth anytime soon.

Knowing that it's aimed in a spiritual sense it's catchy and all, but really who are we kidding. Seeing as how you can't leave the earth without him, stressing the don't renders the sticker moot. That's if it's aimed at "believers". As for it targeting non-believers - well then, it's just moot and stupid.

***

Ever hear that song Possum Kingdom by the Toadies? I was kickin' it today on my ride home and I think that secretly this song is about vampires. Or one vampire offering to make a girl a vampire. Read:

Make up your mind

Decide to walk with me

Around the lake tonight

Around the lake tonight

By my side

By my side

I'm not gonna lie

I'll not be a gentleman

Behind the boathouse

I'll show you my dark secret

I'm not gonna lie

I want you for mine

My blushing bride

My lover, be my lover yeah...

Don't be afraid

I didn't mean to scare you

So help me Jesus

I can promise you

You'll stay as beautiful

With dark hair

And soft skin, forever

Forever

Make up your mind

Make up your mind

And I promise you

I will treat you well

My sweet angel

So help me Jesus

Give it up to me

Give it up to me

Do you wanna be

My angel?

So help me!

Be my angel

Be my angel

Do you wanna die?

Do you wanna die?

Do you wanna die?

I promise you

I will treat you well

My sweet angel

So help me, Jesus

Jesus

Jesus

Jesus

Definitely about vampires. And a pious one at that.

First off, I think this song takes place in Texas because the Toadies were from Texas. Plus, there are copious amounts of possums in Texas.

So he takes this girl around the back of his boathouse so he can show her "his dark secret". There, he asks her to be his "blushing bride" and promises her youthful beauty forever. Then he asks her "do you wanna die?"

Plus the song is called Possum Kingdom. Possums are nocturnal animals, like vampires and bats. And possums hang upsidedown, like bats and the "Lost Boys".

Obviously this dude is some kinda texan vampire Prince (he has a boathouse afterall) and is offering this girl immortality as his wife. The "blushing bride" part indicates red - like blood - for when he seals the deal my chomping on her bloody nape and joins them together forever. And together they will rule over the night. Their Possum Kingdom.

What say you? Seems pretty cut and dry to me. It's pretty old, do know what song I'm rambling about?

next