Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

7:08 p.m. - 09.17.2003
Nein Nein, Heir Uber!
Can you smell it? *long, deep, nostril-flaring sniff* Ah yes, it's in the air. Oktoberfest! That jolly time of year has swung 'round a-gain. The time where I look only slightly less of a lush than usual, because everyone else is drunk in the streets as well.

Two years ago, my friends and I ventured to the rolling hills of Northwest GA (yes, where they filmed Deliverance *squeeeeal!*) to a place called, Helen, GA.

If you've ever been to Busch Gardens in Williamsburg and wished that some genius would make an entire town look like a crappy, gaudy, grossly stereotyped alpine village - well then Helen, GA is your heaven. It's Oktoberfest in Helen all year round, but during the real Oktoberfest, it has an extra special electricity. The beer is flowing, the wurst is the best, and the chicken dance is all the craze.

Basically, a magical time is to be had by all. And no - you don't have to drink to have a good time. *stifled snicker*. I'm aware that some readers of this may be under the legal drinking age. Remember, impairment starts with the first drink - so make sure you're first to the bar so you're not DD.

Failing that - down the road a bit is a safe alternative in the form of the national headquarters/birthplace of that 80's phenom, Cabbage Patch Kids. Babyland General is a sight to see, including hourly "live" births, an on-site adoption center, and the obligatory gift shop from hell. My friends and I went, because it's all free! (Except if you wanna "adopt" a "child". That's a mind blowing 100-300 bucks! ....how the hell did I get on this topic....)

But I happen to live no where near Georgia anymore. But fear not self...for Seattle has theFremont Oktoberfest! Of course, I have no idea how it is, it could blow, but I imagine any Oktoberfest pales in comparison to Helen GA's. (Well, that Munich, Germany scrapes together a decent knock-off. I did it a few times, but really - it's just not Georgia now is it?)

But the Fremont Oktoberfest seems to be a microbrew beer fest of sorts - so it can't be all that bad. I'll favor it with my liver - do a chicken dance or two - and carry the Oktoberfest torch on towards next year. Like the soda dispenser says, Wunderbar.

next