Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

6:55 p.m. - 10.09.2003
Sapphire Bullets of Pure Love
Did you ever look up the word "dictionary" in the dictionary? Me either. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it says, (1) See me. (2) You're holding one, dumbass. I don't know if that little nugget was Merriam's or Webster's, but it was pure gold.

***

Across the street from my office is the 5th avenue of seattle. Literally. Like NY, 5th ave here is also where all the stores are.

At lunch some of us boys like to go shopping. We like to walk around the gap, just touching the fabrics and to see if they have our sizes - we don't really want to buy anything. Maybe we'll try stuff on to get each others opinion - but that's about it.

(now I'm getting to the truthful part of the story) We were talking about random 80s clothes that those lovable hipsters have made popular again. Of course, trucker hats and atari and ghostbuster t-shirts weren't popular in the 80s for being ironic - but now they're popular again. And the gap is pushing those jean jackets that are faux-wool lined. We got to thinking that if 80s-retro is still cool - why not go all the way?

I've taken it upon myself to bring back Umbros. Really loud umbros. If it ain't day-glo I don't need it. And pastel surf wear of any kind. Ducktail shirts from Op, Jimmy Z's, Billabong, T & C surf, Catchit. You name it. Or maybe t-shirts that have the Vuarnet logo.

I'm definitely digging out my Original Jams. Clam digger style naturally. I'll be the trendsetter of hipsters. The disheveled, puffy-ski vest 80s look is out. I'm talking preppy here. I'm going to start pegging my suit-pants at work, and wearing pink izod shirts with the collar up. Also, it would be cool if people wore penny loafers - but put the new state quarters in them - so start doing that.

More eighties in my life? I now want to have three daughters, and I want to name them after the three girl chipmunks: Brittany, Eleanor, and Jeanette.

And if I got home from work and found that Hollywood Squares had been replaced with pre-Webbigail Duck Tales, I could die a happy man.

***

On a whim a friend of mine is jetting to london. I would very much like to be the carry-on item. Let me state for the record, for all your future travel plans, that I stow easily in overhead compartments - but I do have a tendency to shift in flight.

***

I don't like being a creature of habit. Writing in here everyday has become that. Maybe what I need is some qt with the cohen brothers this weekend...

next