Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

11:52 a.m. - 2002-12-08
why.
This morning I've been reading blogs by teenie-boppers using webonics. It makes me feel dyslexic.

Then I jumped over to globeofblogs.com and started reading brit blogs. They could write about shampoo labels and it would be clever and fun.

Also, did you know there are webrings dedicted to people with scathing sarcasim? In fact, the majority of blogs break-down into:

-I'm smart and sarcastic, and common people suck.

-I'm 12, an HTML genius, and hope to kiss a boy soon.

-I have cats. 235 to be exact. There's Ms. Tuffet, and here's Chairmen Meow looking all grumpy...

-I'm gothic. And a poet. Come read about the blood I spill for this agonizing life....

Okay, I'm doing it as well. I'm a sarcastic wanker. It's a downward spiral folks - beware. Hate is very unbecoming. ...that's why I hate you. :) (in case you haven't picked up, I don't take myself very serious.)

So any way. Read British blogs. They're pretty funny.

***

Yesterday I hit a vinyl sale at the record shop. Oh,I collect vinyl. Picked up some Lennon and McCartney. Solo works. It'd be cool to have a band called Lenin & McCarthy (but they would hate each other on principle, even though they were eerily similar. So who would be their Yoko? Maybe the french. The french are a default wipping-boy globally.) Oh yeah, while the previous topic of brits is still warm, it's my dream to have an english pub called The Walrus and the Carpenter. If the whole Seattle thing doesn't pan out, I'm going to try to get all the requisite work visas and such to move to London. Speaking of Seattle....

***

I've recently come into a small chunk of money due to graduation, making my move to Seattle possible. This is why I'm taking my recent arrest extra hard today, because my impending community service is mucking up the works. I hate facists (read:police). How does my hate look on me?...I'm told I wear it well. If you haven't guessed by now - I wear everything well. Narcissism included.

***

In the coming months, when the time has come for me to jet west and check some things out, this is how I'm doing it - www.site59.com (I don't know how to link. suffer.) This site is great! It's what the kids describe as "da bomb" or "fat". (I watched a bit of the WB yesterday.) It specializes in last minute get-aways. Round trip airfare and three nights hotel stay (sometimes a luxury hotel) for an average price of $300. There are international flights and hotel packages (Cancun, Frankfurt) for $350-450. Heck, if you just want to drive to the airport after work on Friday and go somewhere, you can go to some places for $150. I'm talking places with faraway and exotic names like - Mill-a-wal-kay or Cleve-land. Hey, getting away is getting away. Anyhoo, that's how I'm going to Seattle.

***

Here's the meat and potatos of my entry: Why Seattle? ...a good question. Here are a number of my reasons, in no particular order:

- I'm not FROM anywhere. I've lived all over, and love everywhere I've been, but hold no allegiance to any of them. So, by default, now that I'm graduating and can go anywhere - there's really no place I care to go. I chose Seattle because I've never been there. I've been to most all US geographic regions, except the Pacific NW. A few years out there will make me a well-rounded American. (is that an oxy-moron?)

- Manifest-destiny. I DO have an innate desire to go west right now. I can't explain it.

- The previously mentioned reason of Geography. I would like to experience the flora and fauna and culture and society of a completely opposite temperate zone.

- I'm young. And looking for a change. There is no greater change than to move as far away as possible. On the East coast, this happens to be Seattle. Alaska is out of the question, because it is a desired future vacation spot for me, and living there would ruin it. Hawaii too.

- It looks good in movies.

- I've reached a place politically and intellectually where the South no longer interests me. The Pac NW seems to be as liberal as the government will allow.

- It looks good in movies. (The reason so nice, I listed it twice!)

I know these reasons overlap, and aren't very good - but why did you move to wherever you are? Money, Love, Work, Family...okayokay. Good reasons all. But I have none of those things, so this is the best I got.

Feedback? Support? Words of Caution? E-mail me!!

next