Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

10:50 a.m. - 02.14.2003
Lonely Hearts Club..band...day...or something
In Seattle one day I hiked it over to the Space Needle. At the base of the Needle is a small amusement park.

There's something lonely and haunting about walking through an empty and winterized amusement park. The space has a strange stillness about it - sounds seem to echo louder in the emptiness, knowing the space should normally be filled with high decibels of mirth.

The old joyrides should be squeaking and lurching, extracting their screeches and squeals of delight. But in the winter they lie dormant - waiting. Like a dog stoicly waiting for the master to come home, just so they can play.

The Space Needle is a whole complex of rides, museums and attractions, and that monday morning I was the only one there. Invisible hands were pulling me in every direction begging me to see, and do, and play, and I felt bad because I couldn't.

But fair weather is around the corner. We're rounding the back stretch of winter so I don't feel too bad because I know their wait for school to be out isn't too much longer.

***

After the Space Needle I walked up to 1st ave and then walked all the way down to Pioneer Square (that's far).

This is the original heart of Seattle. Even on a weekday morning, nothing seemed to open until 11am, so I found myself just window shopping for a few hours. Heck, for all I know, by 11 even the Space Needle complex is a swirl of activity. So I kicked it back to the Public Market for breakfast at the Crepes of France booth. Secretly, I think it would be cooler if it was named the Crepes of Wrath, like that Simpsons episode where Bart goes to France as an exchange student.

If you ever are in Seattle as a tourist - go ahead and sleep in. Nothing is open till later anyway.

(Also, you'll have to put up with these 'Seattle this and that' entries for some time. Sorry.)

***

The other night it happened all over again. Me, my mom, diner, and too much wine.

This time we joyously bouced over to Target to have a look 'round. We stumbled out with About a Boy and My Big Fat Greek Wedding on DVD.

I think I could make a habit of this. But I already have a new project...

***

My new 'unemployed time filling project' has begun.

I returned home from Seattle to find that my mom had restocked the kitchen in glorious Kraft Mac n Cheese. Both original AND spirals.

Both kinds currently have seperate contests going on. I've decided to play them both religiously. Even if I don't eat enough currently, I've decided to up my intake of Kraft until the end of the contests, to increase my chances of winning. Yes, this IS how I've decided to rechannel my energy.

With Spirals you can win a "Sleepover Jam 2003!" If you win this, you fly to LA with 3 guests for a 5 day/4 night stay at a "jammin' hotel." You're then a guest at Nickelodeon's Sleepover Jam 2003 where you can "stay up late" and "party" with "Nick celebrities".

Lesser prizes include Playstations 2's and a SpongeBob Sleeping Bag. Either way, there are glow in the dark SpongeBob stickers in everybox. As they suggest, I plan on collecting all six.

(No. There is no age limit to play.)

As for the box of Original, they are offering the chance to win $100,000 in cash. Which would be very nice. For this, all you have to do is collect game pieces to spell out K-R-A-F-T.

But it's a little more involved. You don't get a letter inside the box. You get a "game code". You then have to log onto the internet and enter your code at the game's website to recieve your letter. Then you can try to spell out KRAFT. But you have to save the original boxes for it to be official. If you spell out KRAFT, you win $100, and your name goes into the drawing for the $100,000.

I urge ALL of you to not play. This is my livelyhood we're talking about people.

God I hope I win. Even if it's just a SpongeBob sleeping bag! The money would be great and all, but really, who are we kidding? A Sleepover Jam with all the Nick stars?! Hell yeah!

***

I'm headed to Raleigh again tonight for the Lonely Hearts Club with these two jokers and whoever else they bring along. I'll raise a glass to all of you singles out there. All of you that aren't....unlike others of my standing, I bear you no ill will. Have a ball!

***

Happy Birthday Osh!

next