Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

12:05 p.m. - 02.22.2003
Winners and Losers
I waited like a dog by the door for my mom to come home from her formal event all night. A dog in a black tuxedo t-shirt that is.

I didn't know, but she said it was a black-tie silent auction charity to benefit the local YWCA. My mom's last job was the head of the YWCA's fund-raising department. She actually implemented the silent auction last year and it was their most successful fund-raiser ever, so they invited her back this year as an honorary guest in recognition! Go Moms!

Anyway, she came home a winner! She won a nice stack of boardgames I'm eager to tear into! And she won tickets to the NC State vs Maryland basketball game next week! And she won a weekend vacation to a beach house in Hilton Head, SC!

I was excited for her. She was bummed though because she didn't win a trip to Italy she was wanting. Being the logical benefactor to share in her winnings, I was equally bummed about the Italy loss.

Upon hearing of the loss, I dropped to my knees sobbing and ripped off my tuxedo tee Incredible Hulk-style.

However - when I get anywhere close to the floor, Annie the Dog thinks its carte blanche to give me a tongue-bath.

After a flurry of fur and a cold nose in my ears, I was left on the floor half-naked and covered in drool - with nothing but my dreams of Tuscany and tattered bits of a Hanes Beefy-T in my hands.

On the bright side, I can now play Operation all I want.

next