Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

9:46 p.m. - 03.21.2003
Thems Be Fightin' Words
I have one more bone to pick with the war, and then I'm done with it. I won't even mention it again. We'll just sweep it under the rug, or walk around it "unknowingly" like a pile of doggy-doo in the living room that nobody will lay eyes on so as not to fall prey to the "first to see, first to clean" rule.

It seems to me that the anti-war camp is keeping their focus on their sternness towards the war. And maybe Bush. But the pro-war camp is relatively safe from our persecution. We believe people are entitled to their opinion. Call us crazy.

But it seems the pro-war camp is another story. To them, the very thought of being anti-war is subject to much finger-pointing and cries of "foul" and "unpatriotic" and even "traitor". Is this the 50's? Is there a new Red Scare and I wasn't given the memo? When does the witch hunt begin? Are actors and actresses going to be blacklisted all over again based on comments they're bound to make at the Oscars on Sunday? Hasn't it already happend to the poor, dear Dixie Chicks?

This is ridiculous. Simply because the anti-war camp disagrees with this one single governmental act? The pro-warers are saying that we must "support our country in everything that it does; all of it's decisions. To not support the war is to be an unpatriotic traitor."

I'll tell you one thing. I'm going to remember their words - all of 'em. Verbatim. And when this war is over, life will carry on.

And let's say in the future the government does something like - Oh, I dunno - raise taxes, or pass all kinds of restrictive liberty-reducing laws?

If I hear a pro-warer utter so much as the tiniest complaint, I will jump all over them for not supporting the country in all of it's decisions. I will label them a bad American, and unpatriotic, and even a traitor. Who are they to question the government? If Uncle Sam wants a bigger bite of your pay check, it's best you not question his reasons - just submit. .....Commies. *tsk* Questioning the government. Absurd.

But - I'm comparing apples to oranges, you say? *a glove slap to your face* Pish-Posh, I say! And I will taunt you a second time. *A second glove slap to your face* I fart in your general direction!

***

(p.s. - I would like to state that I support the troops. I grew up in a military family.

I know that a soldier has no say in the "why" and "where" of his job. If I were currently in the army, I would be against the war - but I would still be in the war. Being civilian however I have the luxury of a vocal opinion so I am expressing it.

Although I don't specifically know anyone in the war, I'm bound to know of people - be it from high school or college - and I have no desire to see them, or anyone (Allied or Iraqi) harmed. That is why I am able to support the troops. 'Nuff said.)

next