Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

7:58 p.m. - 04.01.2003
Amishnerds and Emotional Hot-Flashes
Yesterday I was all B.B. King's "The Thrill is Gone".

Today I'm more Mama's and the Papa's "Go where you wanna go, do what you wanna do."

I think it's this back and forth weather. Hot then cold then hot. Spring plays with the mind. Like the volatile nature of the season, it's also conducive to emotional hot-flashes. "But I'm feeling MUCH better now!" - Buddy, NIGHT COURT

***

When amishgirl and I were small(er), we thought some of our best April Fool's jokes were to "trick" people into thinking they had things like a purple fly on their head or a green cookie in their pocket. As far as amishchildren go, we were uber-amishnerds.

Do you think the amish even have social misfits? The concept of nerds and geeks? How about just the concept of a perceived social heirarchy amongst children?

I suppose they can't very well have geeks, as they are nerds that fancy themselves tech-savvy. Unless there are amishnerds consumed by the technology of things like hand-powered water pumps. Then I guess they could be called amishgeeks.

But as a whole I should think they (amishkids) are equals. It's pretty much a level playing field in the school yard. They all wear the same not-so-brand-name-fashions like Christian Diorhoffeins and Tommikiel Hilfigerberg.

All their dad's have the same embarrassing beard, and their families all have that one aging horse with serious gas problems - but they refuse to have him put down because he's "like a member of the family" - so when it's his turn to pull the buggy they just whince and bear it.

I'm doubting the existence of amishnerds. I think it's a social utopia they got going on. The smurf-ideal is alive and well in south-central pennsylvania.

next