Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

8:24 a.m. - 04.03.2003
Scorecard
I have Seattle days and I have Charleston days. This week the Seattle days outnumber the Charleston days. Next week? Who knows.

But I have a new plan of attack. First, I'm taking a short trip to Charleston next week like I did in Seattle. It's been awhile since I've been there - and I've never been there specfically with an eye towards me as a future resident. So I'm going to poke my head 'round and look at things like affordable housing, the economy, and what not.

Upon my return, I will implement battle-plan deux: Number crunching. I will get my most up-to-date bank statement and sit down and work the numbers for each potential move. I may have to massage the Seattle numbers a bit to factor in gas money for such a move, but I plan on keeping things as unbiased as possible. THEN, I'll be able to make the most informed decision possible.

Sound like a plan, Stan? ( My mother is guilty of using sayings like that regularly. 'Ready, Freddy?' is one. 'See ya later alligator' is another. She also has the habit of frenchifying ordinary words. She gets in 'ze show-air' to bathe and takes out 'ze gar-baw-zsh'. Crazy lady. I feel like I've mentioned this before?)

***

Regardless of my decision, I'm both excited and nervous to move. The readjustment to life, and the services you are used to can be fun or a pain.

When I move I enjoy some things like finding my new watering hole, hunting supplies, or grocery store. But other things are a pain in the ass like finding a whole new taxidermist or erotic cake shop. Some of those specialty shops I frequent are so hit-or-miss.

Did you know that some erotic cake shop owners don't even consider themselves artists? (or 'ar-tEEsts' as my mother would say. She's sooo Hollywood.)

Thank god I've found dominatrix service to be pretty standard everywhere. Now, dry cleaning and colonics? That's a different story...

next