Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

3:42 p.m. - 04.15.2003
Sunny Holes
I just spent another great afternoon in the sun, kicking back Sierra Nevada's and finally finishing David Sedaris (Me Talk Pretty One Day).

I'm starting to come around on this whole unemployment thing - it's great!And it has everything to do with the weather! If you can, track down the song "Unemployed in Summertime" by Emiliana Torrini. (thanks to soupergirl for that one.)

As for finishing David Sedaris? LOved it. Yet, as I was laughing, secretly I was damning myself under my breath for at one time having made all the same wild observations he has about the mundane, or life abroad as an American, or dillusions of grandeur - but never having the articulation or confidence to commit them to paper.

It should be known that not all my time was spent frolicking in the sun. Amishmom has committed me to doing some light lanscaping. Specifically, shrub planting.

Digging the perfect hole should be required knowledge. It should be placed up there with the other required things that are the first to go by the wayside in life - like tying useful knots, making a fire, or listing the the orders of clouds and trees. Naming the oceans and continents. The segments of insects. The larval stages. The explorers of the new world (AND dates!). Dinosaurs. And digging holes.

My hole digging is done now - but I was just getting back into the swing of it. I wanna dig more holes!

Also, I'm stoked about the movie Holes coming out. Because I actually read the book. I enjoy seeing the movies of books I've read. Especially new children's books. Having access to them was one of the benefits of having dated a teacher.

If I had my way - now that they've mastered CGI - I would like to see large screen adaptations of the Phantom Tollbooth, the Little Prince and (although it needs no special effects) the Westing Game.

next