Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

5:13 p.m. - 06.01.2003
Egypt Was Troubled By The Horrible Asp
I must say I had a nice relaxing time at the beach. Don't think I've ever been this tan in May. My days consisted of time spent judiciously segmented between the beach, the pool, and various secondary locales offering alcoholic refreshment. If you ever have the opportunity - I highly recommend trying unemployment it's been such a positive experience.

Spending so much time with my nephew and pregnant sister afforded me much reflection and many life lessons learned. None of which I remember at this moment.

I was supposed to leave for Seattle tomorrow. Nothing ever works out as planned. But considering the ad hoc nature of my relocation it's only fitting.

However long it takes me to pack up all my belongings, move all my furniture into storage or out of sight to my mother's satisfaction, and whenever my kick-back check arrives from my grandmom, only then can I leave here. I'm thinking I'll have the greenlight to shove off bright and early wednesday morning - putting me in Seattle god knows when.

It's all starting to seem a bit - unplanned. I'm going to fill my car with stuff and just drive to a strange city on the other side of the country? Sign a lease and get a job, lickity-split? No problems? I must be outta my mind.

But I'm doing it anyways. ...I got nothing else to do.

Needless to say, if I do hit the road in the next 48 hours, it'll be a week maybe till I get there, and then some intense weeks of establishing myself.

I started this whole journal-ma-bob thing because I was graduating college (again) and really wanted to move to Seattle and wanted to document whether or not it would happen. Well, it happened! To show that this journey has come to a happy ending, here's a classic entry from the beginning.

I can't really say if and when I'll have internet connection again anytime soon. Thanks for stopping by and I'll be reading you as I can. It's been a long strange trip these 5 little months. See y'all in a few weeks!

Yours,

next