Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

6:11 p.m. - 01.15.2004
Squaresville
I was walking home last night and I passed a bunch of strung out street punks. One of them not so discreetly looked me over and then announced to his chums, "Check out this square".

Of course, I walked on by like I didn't even notice - but then I had a good laugh. But then I got to thinking about it and I got pissed. And then I got mad at myself for even caring. First off, why do I give two shits what some drug addict thinks of me who A.) lives on the street and B.) still uses the word "square"? Then I laughed again cuz I said "square".

Later I picked up some of my friends and I told them the story. Of course, everything was "square" for the rest of the night. We even drove past the scene of the crime to yell square back, but squared out.

After dropping them all off, on my way home "tequila" came on the radio and I started doing the Pee Wee dance behind the wheel. It was then that I realized, yes, the damn dirty punk was right. I'm a raging square.

But I don't care. I take solace in the comforting words of my mom and Huey Lewis & the News. They tell me I'm a catch and that it's hip to be square.

***

So, we're all aware of bratz by now. Those little toy twelve year old hip-hop ho's that look like Precious Moments tricked out in reject BeBe.

Well, I had to go into Radio Shack to buy something, and there was a Bratz Boy Motorcycle for sale there. Some big redneck Harley-Davidson job with a biker bratz boy on it.

What I wanna know is - who is this marketed towards? It just seems to me that the redneck Harley-Davidson style and the normal bratz gangsta-tip style go together like oil and water. The shit just don't mix.

Deep down, do all jenny's on the block wanna trade in their pimped out Neon for a night of line dancing and the Patrick Swayze Roadhouse life? Is that the vibe marketers are feeling? Or do they expect boys to be buying these bratz boys. Because I didn't see too many of bratz's normal demographic whoopin it up in the Radio Shack. Holla!

***

Napolean said something to the affect of "those who win the wars get to rewrite the history books."

It'll be interesting to see who the last Beatle standing is.

next