Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

1:37 p.m. - 02.08.2004
The Funk of 40,000 Years
In English class did they ever show you that old black and white movie of "An Occurence at Owl Creek Bridge" by Ambrose Bierce? I'm pretty sure I've brought this up before. It's the one where the Civil War dude is being hung from a bridge, but the rope snaps on his way down. He swims to shore, and runs all the way home to see his wife - but then as he reaches her the rope catches and we find he just imagined all that escaping and running home junk in the time it took for him to fall and the rope to catch.

Anyhoo, I'm pretty geeky and like finding old videos of junk like that they would show in english class. I found it on DVD - just thought I'd share it with you, on the off chance that you were geeky too. It's actually a french movie that won the Academy Award for best short film. Rod Serling, the creator of the Twilight Zone, loved it so much he aired it as an episode of the Twilight Zone. So, I found it on a TZ DVD, natch. Worth checking out.

***

I heard MJ's Thriller yesterday. It amazes me how much more innocent society as a whole was back then. We really did go ga-ga over a 6 minute Halloween song, didn't we. What drove us to want to dance through sprinklers on a blazing hot July day to a Halloween song? Maybe it was the heady joy of hearing Vincent Price kick it with the ebonics ("To terrorize y'all's neighborhood".)

It took one Jackson to give us so much innocence, and another Jackson to take it away. (yes, I'm still rockin' on the boob tip. What else do I have to think about.)

next