Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

3:50 p.m. - 12.08.2004
the dirty truth
It's awful and true - I'm a horrible speller. As they say in french, "that's life."

***

So I was driving last night and this song came on the radio. As I was listening to the opening chords I thought, "man this is awful familiar". It was Elastica! - that femme brit-pop throwback. It was Connection. And as I was listening, I realized it was a good 9 yrs old - but I thought it would totally hold it's own against any of the hipster new wave crap churning out today (read Futureheads). I won't go so far as to say they were ahead of their time - but definitely underrated in this Pretty Girls Make Graves-era.

So go dust those girlies off your shelf and rock out.

***

Thanks so much for signing the book - you rock! As I research though, Med School is looking like one of those "pipe dreams" you read so much about. And whenever I say Med School, don't think of me in any Scrubs kinda way. Sadly, I'm talking about nursing. Male nursing. I know, you're all cringing on the other side of your monitors - it hurt me just to type it. In fact, I'm quickly changing my mind.

My goal was to be a nurse-anesthetist. Knocking people out for surgery and then walking away with my cool $100,000+/yr. However, they have some completely unfair pre-req hurdles that I will never be able to jump over.

I guess my cubical isn't so bad after all - like a cozy little womb...

***

This whole Pearl Harbor anniv. thingy had me thinking:
Pearl Harbor was supposed to be this "great awaking" for the american people - a loss of innocence. And then with Vietnam we lost some innocence. And 9/11 was billed as some kind of wake up and, yes, loss of innocence.

And I started to wonder - how much damn innocence does this country have to loose?

But I think that's one of our problem's - we're a "Born-Again" society. Born-again religions, virgins, and now innocence. But really it's just a denial of responsibility - simply choosing to ignore what you already know simply because one finds it unpleasant.

Unfortunately, that ignored knowledge is usual what the kids call, "common sense".

So we have this mantle of innocence we choose to put on and take off as needed. I decided this national identity crisis stuck us somewhere between the feigned naivet� of Clark Kent and the Family Circus' ghostly "Not Me". But with Alfred E. Newman's mantra, "what, me worry?"

next