Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

11:10 a.m. - 01.19.2005
You give me something to believe in

You know how killer bees invading from the south take over a nest - and then the indigenous bees are now "Africanized"?

We're totally those killer bees. Anyone that comes in contact with our hive becomes "Americanized".

I have a friend in South Africa who studied in the US briefly. She emailed today to say,"wtf?", in response to the rumours of "us" (read: Queen Bee Bush) not entirely ruling out an invasion of Iran.

Anyhoo, she began the email with the exclamation "dude". That's so us. The Land of Chicks and Dudes. They should just replace Men and Women bathroom signs with Chicks and Dudes.

....hmm...I had a point. Blahblah Americanized...blahblah...more aggressive...blahblah the collective "us"...blah blah "dudes". That's the gist I guess. The indigenous gist, yo.

Well, that and the fact that it proves that non-Americans don't differentiate between Blue States and Red States. It's all just "us". Anything the government does is in your name too, fyi, in the eyes of the world. And lives needlessly wasted are wasted in your name. Enjoy the inauguration tomorrow.

Okay - here's the original email from South Africa:
Seriously dude, I was reading a report that Bush has not ruled out going to war with Iran, and that has just ruined my day. Apart from being morally reprehensible, it's just so self-destructive, it's horrible to watch you guys ruining your country. Why did everybody elect this guy and how can people possibly think this would be a good idea? Please explain this to me.


***

Do you know the state road signs in Utah have the image of a bee hive on them? That's because the mormons respect and emmulate the hive structure, supposedly. In the immortal words of Buddy the Elf, "Shocking."


***

Do you think a person can, if they hate it, change their style of sneeze? My style is to actually stifle each sneeze, as if wishing to re-route it through my ears. Apparently this is humorous to my co-workers.

But could I change it, even if I wanted too? A sneeze and your reaction to it is so natural and unforced. For the that small duration of a sneeze, you are not in control of your body anymore - you hand the keys to drive right over to the smiling, devious looking 16 yr old sneeze. Think about how hard it is too stifle it - you can't even fight yourself. Much like a yawn. You are too strong for even yourself. The sneeze and yawn are cousins.

I have no idea what I'm talking about either, you're not alone....

next